As part of our ongoing efforts to enhance the security of your content, we’ve made some important changes to Foleon Doc previews that help increase your visibility control. ⚠️
Here's what you need to know 👇
- The preview version of Foleon Docs has been made private by default, including all your existing Docs (no action required)
- Private previews are only accessible to those logged into Foleon
- You are able to change previews back to being public (or vice versa) on a per-Doc basis
- This change only applies to the preview version of Foleon Docs. The published (live) version has not changed and remains accessible to all (depending on your access control setup).
On July 24, 2023, the preview version of Foleon Docs has been made private by default. This means that when you share a preview link, only those logged into Foleon (and belonging to the relevant workspace) can access it.
This change automatically applies to all your existing Doc previews, so you can rest assured that your content will be seen only by the intended audience (no action required).
We understand that some of your Doc previews have to be publicly accessible. So, we’ve introduced a new setting to choose the visibility of each Doc. This way, you can change the preview version back to public (and vice versa) on a per-Doc basis, giving you complete control over what content can be previewed by whom. Learn more in our article Preview your content.
This change is just one of the many ways we're working tirelessly to ensure the security of your content.
Please note, as part of this update, preview links have changed. However, you don't need to do anything, as the old preview links automatically redirect to the new version.
💡 You can explore our access control options to limit who can access your published Foleon Docs.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Why this change?
Before, anyone with the preview URL could access your Doc. Because Foleon is always aiming to strengthen the security of your Foleon Docs, we've made the preview private by default. In addition, we're giving you more control over visibility — enabling you to change the preview version back to being public (or vice versa) on a per-Doc basis.
Do I need to take action?
No. We'll make all preview links of your existing Foleon Docs private. The structure of the preview URL will change, but no need to worry; the old preview links will automatically redirect to the new version.
I've sent out lots of preview links — what should I do?
All of your preview links have become private automatically. This means that the preview URLs will only be accessible to those logged into Foleon. You'll be free to change the preview version back to being public (or vice versa) on a per-Doc basis, giving you complete control over what content can be previewed by whom.
Who now has access to the preview of my Foleon Doc?
Before, anyone with the preview URL could access your Doc. With this security update, only those logged into Foleon (and belonging to the relevant workspace) can access the preview. Do you want to give people outside your Foleon workspace access? Make the preview public in the Doc settings.
I've sent my private preview to someone who's outside my Foleon workspace. What will they see?
If you're not logged into Foleon, you'll be redirected to our login page. Visitors who are logged into Foleon will have immediate access to the preview. Do you want to give people outside your Foleon workspace access? Make the preview public in the Doc settings.
Does anything happen to my Review Mode links?
Review Mode links are only accessible after logging in and can't be made public — meaning people will need a Foleon login to access them. No changes here. There are also no changes to published Foleon Docs; those remain accessible depending on how access control is set up.
I use one of Foleon's access control options to secure my preview. What should I do?
The access control options only apply to your published Foleon Doc. For example, it's not possible to set a username and password for your preview. With this new security update, the previews of your Foleon will always be private and secure for your workspace by default — unless you decide to make it public.
I'm using Pastel to review my Docs. What happens there?
Because the URL structure of Doc previews changes, your Pastel comments might not display correctly. Comments remain on Pastel's server, but you might need to change the canvas URL to make it work again. Learn more in Pastel's Help Center.