You organize your images, videos, and documents in the media library. As an admin or designer, you can share specific folders with your company. This makes sure other users create on-brand content while saving time. In this article, we show you how to use the Shared library to organize your media assets.
💡 Starting a new project or Foleon Doc? Discuss with your workspace how you will organize the media library, so you can quickly locate the right files.
In this article
How does the Shared media library work?
With the shared media library, all of the users in a company — or account — can use media assets that have been shared by designers or admins.
If you use assets from this library, you'll ensure your Foleon Docs are on-brand with approved content. It also enables you to work more independently, with less review time from your brand owner.
⚠️ The library is different from the workspace library. In this library, all users in a workspace can use, upload, and manage media assets.
Depending on your user role, you use the library in different ways:
As an admin or designer
As an admin or designer, you share folders with your company. This makes sure other users create on-brand content while saving time.
As an editor, publisher, or author
In the shared library, all users of your company will find folders that have been shared. You can use its contents in your Foleon Doc to save time and stay on-brand. No shared folders yet? Let your admin or designer know that sharing is caring.
How to share a folder
Let's say you want all users in your company to use the correct logos of your brand. You can create a folder named "Logos", share it, and make it part of the shared library. With this action, you make sure that all users have easy access to the correct files.
💡 Only admins and designers can share a folder.
In the GIF above, we follow these steps to share a folder:
Select a folder in the workspace library
Click on the green share button on the right-hand side of the screen
We will then ask you to confirm — click on share again
You've now successfully shared your "Logos" folder with all users in your company. You'll now find it in both the workspace library and shared library, with a green color.
When you share a folder, no other users will be notified. You can always unshare the folder later to undo this action.
There are a few rules you need to follow to use the share button:
You can only share one folder at a time. If you select multiple folders, this won't work.
It's not possible to share a single media asset. Place it in a folder to share it. This is also the case if you've selected multiple media assets.
How to unshare a folder
As an admin or designer, you can unshare a folder. If you unshare a folder, its contents will no longer be available to all users in the Shared library.
⚠️ You can only unshare a folder in the workspace from which it was originally shared. It's only possible to unshare from the workspace library — not from the shared library.
In the GIF above, we follow these steps to unshare a folder:
Select a shared folder in the workspace or shared library
Click on the blue unshare button on the right-hand side of the screen
We will then ask you to confirm — click on unshare again
You've now successfully unshared your "Logos" folder. In case you’ve selected a folder, all its contents will be unshared, too. The folder will remain in your workspace library.
If you unshare a media asset that’s currently in use on a Foleon Doc, it stays visible in the live version. However, it will no longer show up in the Editor or be available for use when (re)publishing.
There are a few rules you need to follow to use the Unshare button:
You can't unshare a subfolder of a shared folder. To unshare an item within a shared folder, you first have to drag it out of this folder into an unshared one.
You can only unshare one folder at a time. If you select multiple folders, this won't work.