With workspaces, you assign users and content to separate Foleon environments. It's perfect for companies with multiple teams working on their projects. In this article, you learn how to set up your account and make the most of working with workspaces.
⚠️ Workspaces are not included in every plan. If you're interested in using this functionality, contact your Customer Success Manager or firstname.lastname@example.org.
In this article
Why use workspaces?
Workspaces divide your account into separate environments. Each workspace (think region, business unit, or brand) has its own workspace where they can freely collaborate on their projects without being able to access the work of other workspaces.
Workspaces help you safeguard your brand:
Set up dedicated environments based on region, business unit, or brand, so creators only see what’s relevant to them.
Control user access and collaborate more effectively with roles and permissions. Give full access or limit rights to copy changes only — you decide.
Automatically uphold brand standards and smash design bottlenecks with curated media and powerful branded templates.
By setting up separate workspaces, providing brand assets and building blocks, and assigning user roles and permissions, you can safely empower your workspace to create content independently.
How do workspaces work?
By default, you'll find the main workspace in the top right corner, marked with a star.
Users in the main workspace have access to all workspaces and their content. Admins in the main workspace have the following privileges:
Create new workspaces
Have an overview of all users
Invite new users, remove users from workspaces, or change user roles
💡 Admins in a regular workspace can also invite new users, delete users from their workspace, change a user's role, and check user information.
When clicking on the main workspace, a dropdown menu will appear that allows you to navigate to the different workspaces within an account. When a workspace is selected, all projects and templates are displayed subsequently.
💡 Only admins in the main workspaces have the dropdown menu in the dashboard. This means that users in a regular workspace will not see the users in other workspaces — this is only possible if you're a user in the main workspace. Only if you're added as a user in multiple workspaces, you'll be able to see the other users in these workspaces.
Creating a workspace
In the dashboard, go to the users tab on the left-hand side. Here, you're able to add a new workspace by clicking on the create new workspace button.
In the pop-up screen that appears, give your new workspace a name.
💡 The maximum amount of workspaces in your account is set by Foleon. If you'd like to increase the number of workspaces, please contact your Customer Success Manager or email@example.com.
Add and manage users
How to add users
In the users tab, select the workspace you want to add a user to. Then click on add users in the center of the screen.
A pop-up appears that allows you to add existing users or invite new users to your account. In the Users tab, the main workspace admin will then be able to manage the users and change their user roles.
💡 A user can be part of multiple workspaces simultaneously. If you invite an existing user to a different workspace, they will receive an email to inform them they've been added to a new workspace by an admin.
Managing users across workspaces
Users can be part of multiple multiple workspaces simultaneously. If you invite an existing user to a different workspace, they will receive an email to inform them they've been added to a new workspace by an admin.
At the moment, it's not possible to move users between workspaces after adding them. However, we do have a workaround that allows you to do so. Follow these two steps:
- Add the user to the "new" workspace (e.g. Sales) you want to add them to.
- Remove the user from the "old" workspace (e.g. Marketing) they were in before.
⚠️ It's important to follow the steps above in this order. Be aware that you must remove a user in a regular workspace and not delete their user account in the main workspace.
Roles and permissions
You can choose from several user roles when adding new users to your account: Admin, Designer, Publisher, Editor, and Reviewer. Each role has a fixed set of permission settings.
💡 Want to learn how to set up your users? Learn more in our article Set up Users and roles.
Workspaces as a way of working
As mentioned before, there are multiple use cases for workspaces. You could organize your account with different environments based on departments, divisions, or offices. With workspace management, you can transform your way of working to scale your content creation.
For example, a designer from the Acme Inc. New York headquarters creates the content in the main account and distributes it to the different workspaces. Each workspace is a local office where Acme Inc. operates — London, for example. They then localize the content for the United Kingdom and let the brand designer in New York perform a quality check.
This way of working comes with multiple benefits:
Strict governance — nobody can access the content they're not supposed to.
Separate environments — empower workspaces to create content on their own.
Greater level of security — determine user access with roles and permissions.
Ensure brand consistency — keep content on-brand with curated media and templates.
Control your brand assets
Shared media library
You organize your images, videos, and documents in the Media Library. As an admin or designer in the main workspace, you can share specific folders across all workspaces. This ensures all workspaces can create on-brand content while saving time.
💡 Learn more in our article All about the Shared media library.
You can save pages, overlays, and blocks as templates to reuse them in your Foleon Docs. As an admin or designer in the main workspace, you can share specific templates across all workspaces.
If you use a shared template, you'll ensure your Foleon Docs are on-brand with approved content. It also enables you to work more independently, with less review time from your brand owner.
💡 Learn more in our article All about Shared templates.
Move Docs between workspaces
At the moment, it's not yet possible to move a Foleon Doc from one workspace to another. However, we do have a duplicate feature that allows you to achieve the same goal.
We've summarized the rules of this feature below:
- If you're a member of the main workspace:
- You can duplicate a Doc within the main workspace
- You can duplicate a Doc from the main workspace to a regular workspace
- You can duplicate a Doc within a regular workspace
- You can duplicate a Doc from one regular workspace to another
- If you're a member of a regular workspace (not in the main workspace):
- You can duplicate a Doc within the regular workspace you're in
- You can duplicate a Doc from one regular workspace to another one as long as you're a member there. You can't duplicate to workspaces you're not a part of — including the main workspace.