With the undo/redo feature, you can revert your edits. This empowers you to experiment with content more freely. In this article, we show you how it works.
In this article
How to undo/redo your changes
In the editor, you will find the undo/redo buttons in the top bar in the editor. Click on these buttons to undo or redo your action. The buttons are inactive when no registered edits (greyed out).
⚠️ You can't undo/redo a deleted page or overlay.
You're also able to undo/redo using keyboard shortcuts:
- Undo: Command+Z on macOS — Ctrl+Z on Windows
- Redo: Command+Y on macOS — Ctrl+Y on Windows
Which edits can you undo/redo?
You can undo/redo all changes inside the editor canvas when working on a page, overlay, or template. Here are a few examples:
- You've accidentally deleted a block and want to retrieve it.
- You want to change the column's background color and test which color you prefer.
- You've styled an element with a shadow and want to undo your action.
⚠️ Your edits across all view modes are stored in one place. This means you could undo an edit in a different view mode — without seeing anything happen in the view mode you’re working on.
As the undo/redo buttons only apply to changes in the editor canvas, there are edits you can't undo/redo:
- Changes in the Foleon dashboard
- Any edits in the pages or overlay section. This means that it's not possible to retrieve a deleted page or overlay.
- Changes in the Foleon Doc settings or page settings
- Changes in the brand settings
- Changes in the publishing pop-up
- Template options — saving and deleting templates
How we register your edits
Important to know is that we save edits for an active user's session. This means that as long as you don't close your browser tab, you'll be able to undo/redo your changes in the editor canvas.
If you go outside the editor — such as navigating to the dashboard or opening another Foleon Doc — you'll still be able to undo/redo your edits as long as you don't close your browser tab.
💡 If you refresh the tab you're working in, you'll still be available to undo/redo your edits.
As soon as you start working on your content in another tab, the history is lost, and you won't be able to undo/redo your edits from your previous browser window.
You can't use undo/redo when:
- You close your browser tab
- You close your browser tab and start making changes in another browser tab, window, or device
- On the edits that another user in your account has made
⚠️ If multiple users are working on a Foleon Doc simultaneously, we can't guarantee that undo/redo will work as expected.